CD review PRETTY MAIDS ‘Maid In Japan – Back to the Future World

There are two albums which were on almost an endless loop in 1987. One was Helloween’s ‘Keeper of the Seven Keys pt.1’ and the second one was Pretty Maid’s ‘Future World’. In the meantime we are 33 years later but the 10 songs of ‘Future World’ have lost none of their fascination.

For the 30th birthday of these classics, the Danish melodic metal experts of Pretty Maids played several shows, among others in Tokyo, Japan. In November 2018 two concerts took place there, which are the base for this live release. When you consider the fact that Pretty Maids have always been successful in the land of the rising sun, this is a very smart move.

For some people “Maid in Japan – Back to the Future World’ might be just another live record. Because of the connection to the album mentioned in the introduction it was a treat for me to listen to the 10 songs in a live setup. ‘Future World’, Yellow Rain’, ‘Needles in the Dark’, all timeless melodic metal anthems that will stay forever.

Furthermore the sound quality is very good. I don’t know how much post-processing was done, but the 14 songs, plus the intro, are really dynamic and have the right punch. ‘We Came to Rock’ is not only a song from ‘Future World’. 33 years after its release this song feels even more like a statement.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Fw30 (Intro)
  2. Future World
  3. We Came To Rock
  4. Love Games
  5. Yellow Rain
  6. Loud ´N´proud
  7. Rodeo
  8. Needles In The Dark
  9. Eye Of The Storm
  10. Long Way To Go
  11. Mother Of All Lies
  12. Kingmaker
  13. Bull’s Eye
  14. Little Drops Of Heaven
  15. Sin-Decade

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: May 22nd, 2020



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: