CD review VADER ‘Solitude in Madness’

Polish riff grinder Vader is back with their newest album called ‘Solitude in Madness’, a title that could fit better in times of #stayhome and lockdown. It’s really like living in the solitude of madness these days with Vader being the deliverer of the 11 songs comprising soundtrack.

Vader can look back on a pretty stable line with no changes over the last 9 years, a fact that resonates back in an extremely dense sound on the new record. In all these years, the Polish quartet never seriously disappointed and the newest release doesn’t change the approach. Also ‘Solitude of Madness’ reflects merciless Death- / Thrash Metal with songs, being right into the face.

Vader isn’t knows for epically long tunes. The quartet can usually tell the story in 3 minutes but with ‘Despair’ the guys challenge their own record in shortness of songs. With 1:18 minutes the track belongs to the shortest ones Vader ever released, a blast that gives you an idea about how it most feel to be sucked into a tornado and spit out after a bit more than a minute. This song is a blast and so is ‘Stigma of Divinity’.

But the Metal veterans also know what ‘groove’ means. Build on a cool riff the fourpiece powerhouse recorded with ‘Emptiness’ as song, that includes a solid Rock-vibe by not forgetting the harshness of Metal. ‘Bones’, the closer, is another example of Vader focussing on a robust groove in a moderate pace. Half-way the guys shift gears though and the song gains speed, morphing into another ruthless Thrash anthem.

Last but not least there is ‘Final Declaration’, a heavy pounding track with strong Thrash Metal roots, a tune you shouldn’t miss since headbanging is more than allowed while listening.

‘Solitude in Madness’ showcases a band that’s as wild and fierce as they have been over the last 37 years. Vader didn’t lose any of their intensity and power. No foot on the brake and no intention for compromising on aggressiveness, that’s Vader. Together with an extremely well done production, the longplayer is a real challenge for amplifiers and speakers. Now it’s up to each of you if you accept the challenge.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Shock and Awe
  2. Into Oblivion
  3. Despair
  4. Incineration of the Gods
  5. Sanctification Denied
  6. And Satan Wept
  7. Emptiness
  8. Final Declaration
  9. Dancing in the Slaughterhouse
  10. Stigma of Divinity
  11. Bones

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Death- / Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: May 1st, 2020



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: