CD review TRIVIUM ‘What the Dead Men Say’

While other bands and labels partly postpone their new releases, Trivium and Roadrunner Records take another road. Matt Heavy and band mates release their new album as planned. In times of cancelled concerts and festivals it is a well-done step to keep fans optimistic, at least with new music, because what would the world be without music and metal.

‘What the Dead Men Say’ is Trivium’s ninth album and it seems that the four-piece powerhouse have regained their old strength. ‘The Sin and the Sentence’ already pointed into the right direction again and the new album picks it up where the left off with the previous record.

After the short intro ‘IX’ has faded away, the title song takes over, a track that clearly gives direction for the entire album. Melodic vocal lines in chorus, combined with powerful riffs and wild screams the track is a good representative for the approach on the new longplayer, reflcting Trivium 2020.

The rest of the songs are within this span, with the previously released ‘Catastophist’ showing the more melodic side of Trivium. Heafy and Co. don’t lose the desired hardness, but still go about it quite melodically. ‘Scattering the Ashes’ refelcts a similar expression with a grooving bass being more dominant and a bridge partly leans over to Blind Guardian-like moments.

With songs like ‘The Defiant’ the guys increase speed which is further maximized with ‘Sickness Unto You’ and also ‘Bending the Arc to Fear’ belongs to the massive riff assaults on this new longplayer.

Trivium delivers with ‘What the Dead Men Say’ an album that surely belongs to the better Trivium records. It’s the mix of wildness, heaviness and melody that makes Trivium stand out and resonates very well on the new record. All in all: well done ‘Heafy Metal’.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. IX
  2. What The Dead Men Say
  3. Catastrophist
  4. Amongst The Shadows And The Stones
  5. Bleed Into Me
  6. The Defiant
  7. Sickness Unto You
  8. Scattering The Ashes
  9. Bending The Arc To Fear
  10. The Ones We Leave Behind

Label: Roadrunner Records

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: April 24th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: