CD review BONFIRE 'Fistful of Fire'

There is some stability when it comes to German metallers Bonfire, leading to regular album releases during the last years. Driven by guitarist Hans Ziller the band can look back on some recently released longplayers that show a band that’s committed to their mission in Rock and metal. After all the ups and downs that followed the glorious ‘80s, Bonfire found some solid ground again and uses it for writing excellent songs.

The addition of singer Alexx Stahl gave the band an extra boost with the latest two records being the best ones from the Ingolstadt-based band since quite a while. This lifts the bar for the next longplayer that planned for release on April 3rd. ‘Fistful of Fire’ is the title of Bonfire’s new delivery, fueled by 11 songs and three intros/interludes.

Although the mentioned stability is a key element in Bonfire’s recent rise there’s still some line-up connected news to report. Andre Hilgers, known from bands like Rage and Axxis, join the Bavarian quintet and with working horse power the drummer provides a rock solid foundation for each of the songs, never getting tired of adding the right punch to each of the songs.

‘Fistful of Fire’ has quite some songs that are pure fun to listen to. After ‘The Joker’ acted as an instrumental intro it’s ‘Gotta Get It’ that kicks-off the record in a great way and the track is a good example for what the album stands for – rock solid Melodic Metal. Featuring the charm of the ’80s and a modern dynamic is the recipe for success for ‘Fistful of Fire’, a combination that delivers cool Metal hymns.

‘The Devil Made Me Do It’, ‘Rock’n’Roll Survivor’ and ‘Breaking Out’ are exquisite Metal tracks, equipped with firepower and good sense for catchy melodies. The title track uses the same formula and with ‘When An Old Man Cries’ the album carries a half-ballad that can handle a comparison with ‘You Make Me Feel’, the smash hit from the ‘Don’t Touch the Light’ release.

Bonfire is more and more finding back to old strength and ‘Fistful of Fire’ can easily compete with the ‘Point Blank’-days, something I truly doubted during the last decades. ‘Fistful of Fire’ showcases a band that’s on fire. Check it out.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. The Joker
  2. Gotta Get Away
  3. The Devil Made Me Do It
  4. Ride the Blade
  5. When an Old Man Cries
  6. Rock’n’Roll Survivors
  7. Fire and Ice
  8. Warrior
  9. Fire Etude
  10. Breaking Out
  11. Fistful of Fire
  12. The Surge
  13. Gloryland
  14. When an Old Man Cries (acoustic version)

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: April 3rd, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: