CD review CYHRA ‘No Halos in Hell’

Cyhra is the brainchild of singer Jake E and former In Flames guitarist Jesper Stromblad. The guys premiered in 2017 with ‘Letters to Myself’ and now return with the sophomore album ‘No Halos in Hell’.

The new album is a very catchy one with songs being placed somewhere between Modern Metal and Melodic Metal. It reminds in parts of an (even more) melodic version of In Flames, mainly based on Stromblad’s typical guitar pay and riffing (‘No Halo in Hell’).

The creative process behind ‘No Halos in Hell’ took a slightly different road than the one for the debut. With the addition of Euge Valovitra as a full-integrated band member songwriting was a wider shared responsibility of musicians that are all on an equal footing.

In general the album is entertaining and it’s the sugarcoated sweetness of each of the songs that attracts. However, things are overdone in a sense that it’s sometimes too sweet. Some edges is what’s missing with songs like ‘I am the One’ being a pop-like Rock song more than a Metal track. The commercial approach of the album manifests itself best with the ballad called ‘Lost in Time’. Written in collaboration with keyboarder Mark Mangold (Michael Bolton, Cher) aims for greatness but is more like taken off the shelf.

Fans of Melodic Metal with a modern touch might enjoy listening to ‘No Halos in Hell’. However, some extra surprises and less of a streamlined approach would help to stick out from the mass of releases.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Out of My Life
  2. No Halos in Hell
  3. Battle From Within
  4. I am the One
  5. Bye Bye Forever
  6. Dreams Gone Wrong
  7. Lost in Time
  8. Kings Tonight
  9. I Had Your Back
  10. Blood Brothers
  11. Hit Me
  12. Man of Eternal Rain

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: November 15th, 2019



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: