CD review LAURA COX ‘Burning Bright’

(9/10) Fans of very well-done Hard Rock music shouldn’t miss this album. French Laura Cox is the deliverer of an album that, just by listening to it, wouldn’t me connected with France.

Influenced by bands like ZZ Top, Lynyrd Skynryd and AC/DC the French singer and guitarist recorded a longplayer that is a pure treat for your ears.

Hard Rock, Blues and a solid portion of melody as what’s captured on ‘Burning Bright’. A good way to describe the album is to focus on the first three songs, ‘Fire, Fire’ is the exquisit opener. Kicked-off by a great riff, followed by a calmer verse and an exploding chorus the songs sets the scene for what comes next. It’s obvious right away how much feel is put in the track, showcasing a band that’s really hot.

Blues is the main ingredient for ‘Bad Luck Blues’. The title says it all. As with the opener also song number two spreads a lot of energy and entertains right away. Blues and Rock is the base for ‘Last Breakdown’, a smoothly rolling track that is catchy and grooving. Each of these songs is a winner and also the rest of ‘Burning Bright’ can easily keep the quality level. Even the acoustic ‘Just Another Game’ fits perfectly into the context of the album. Emotions and passion is what rules on ‘Burning Bright’. Combined with the musical ability to transfer the two into great songs is what makes this release to a highlight. Rock fans shouldn‘t miss this album.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Fire, Fire
  2. Bad Luck Blues
  3. Last Breakdown
  4. Looking Upside Down
  5. Just Another Game
  6. Here´s To War
  7. Freaking Out Loud
  8. As I Am
  9. River
  10. Letters To The Other Side

Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: November 8nd, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑