CD review LACUNA COIL ‘Black Anima’

(8/10) After Lacuna Coil started in 1994, the Italian Metal powerhouse became a rising star rather quickly. Albums like ‘Comalies’ and ‘Karmacode’ have been a springboard for the band, together with a deal they inked with Century Media. Over the years Lacuna Coil became to one of the influential bands in Modern Metal. While being on an extensive tour with ‘The 119 Show’ the Scabbia and bandmates started to work on new songs that see the light of day in October under the banner of ‘Black Anima’

One of the hardest tracks on the album is on position two on this eleven songs comprising tracklist. Melodic Death Metal meets a dark Gothic vibe with growls being the great counterpart to Scabbia’s melodic singing. ‘Layers of Time’ reflects a slightly different sound, being melodic and showing the almost catchy aspect of Lacuna Coils. The same approach is reflected in ‘Apocalypse’ that builds even more on melody.

Another interesting song is ‘Now or Never’. The track belongs to the heavier ones on the album. Andrea Ferro’s harsh vocal and heavy riffing are the base. The song spreads an impatient vibe in the verse, while the chorus is more harmonic. A typical Lacuna Coil song with a middle part that excites. Cristina Scabbia all of a sudden shifts from singing to furious screaming which fits very well. It’s an addition that comes as a surprise and is a style element which makes the song special.

High pace meets melody, that’s what ‘Under the Surface’ is about before ‘Veneficium’ starts to spread its bittersweet fascination. The album finishes off with the title track. It’s a dark ending and the great musical adaptation of a black soul.

‘Black Anima’ units everything Lacuna Coil stands for. The more oldschool vibe form the earlier days is present on an album that picks it up where the guys left off with ‘Delirium’. Harsh Modern Metal fuses with epic moments provided by Christina Scabbia, not to forget the great riffs added by ‘Maki’ Coti-Zelati. ‘Black Anima’ has a wide approach to music, all hold together by experience and a great vocal duo.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Anima Nera
  2. Sword of Anger
  3. Reckless
  4. Layers of Time
  5. Apocalypse
  6. Now or Never
  7. Under the Surface
  8. Veneficium
  9. The End is All I Can See
  10. Save Me
  11. Black Anima

Label: Century Media

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: October 11th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑