(8/10) Robert Pehrsson is one of the most talented Swedish guitarists who worked already with acts like Dundertåg, Death Breath and Imperial State Electric. Next to these cooperations Pehrsson also worked on his debut album, which hit the shelves in 2013. The album was highly acclaimed and the sophomore longplayer strengthened the positive impression of releases coming from Pehrsson.

September this year will be the moment for Robert Pehrssons Humbucker to unveil the anticipated third longplayer and here it is: ‘Out of the Dark’. Now, since the first two longplayers have been rather successful Pehrsson’s not ‘standing in the dark’. There’s a spotlight for sure directed towards his direction and his new offer in the proper light.

‘Out of the Dark’ picks it up where the guitarist left off with ‘Long Way to the Light’. The bandleader follows his Rock’n’roll heart and delivers a grooving and catchy Hard Rock album that finds its main inspiration in the late ’70s and ’80s. ‘Entombed in Time’ is a good example herefor. The song begins acoustically and reminds of Kansas’ ‘Dust in the Wind’ before the tune gains speed. It’s a ‘Spotlight Kid’ spirit that accompanies the entire rest of the song, a track that belongs to the highlights of the album.

Other Rock anthems you should have heard are the blistering opener ‘All I Need is Not to Need You’, revealing the entire beauty of hard rocking music. ‘These Words’ are built on a cool swinging theme and ‘Surrender’ doesn’t take any prisoners. All great songs and all highly entertaining.

Putting some light on ‘Out of the Dark’ is certainly a good thing. Songs will shine brightly, being the soundtrack for a good time. 33 minutes might not be very long, but don’t worry. Your player has a repeat button and ‘Out of the Dark’ invites to use this feature for sure.



  1. All I Need is Not to Need You 
  2. Careless Lover
  3. Entombed in Time
  4. These Words
  5. Aphelion
  6. Awaiting the Return of the Light 
  7. Castle Turns to Dust
  8. Surrender
  9. Pick Me Up
  10. Everybody’s Here

Label: High Roller Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: September 13th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑