CD review ROXY BLUE ‘Roxy Blue’

(8/10) 25 years after having premiered with ‘Want Some’ Roxy Blue is back with a new album. Miles away from Sunset Boulevard the guys from Memphis, Tennessee lived their Rock’n’roll life and it was Warrant frontman Jani Lane that supported the quartet in he early days. A record deal followed and after a rather successful debut Roxy Blue’s career came to an end.

The 2019 album marks a significant return of the band with three original band members on board. Todd Poole, Josh Wei and Scotty Trammell regrouped and teamed-up with six-stringer Jeffery Wade Caughron.

The four-piece band recorded an album that’s better than what we could expect. Roxy Blue in 2019 sound heavier than what we know from the early ’90s. The newest longplayer contains a lot of Rock’n’roll spirit, replacing in bigger parts the sleazy glam factor from the earlier days. The album showcases a band the got mature over time, something that benefits their music a lot.

‘Roxy Blue’ contains down-to-earth Hard Rock with songs like ‘Til the Well Runs Dry’ being a powering rocker per excellence. ‘Human Race’ is another heavy smasher and the end of the album isn’t a silent one either.

There are the soulful moments like ‘Collide’ and ‘Blinders’ also, representing the heart-breaking aspect of Roxy Blue’s music. Actually it’s the full-force songs being the highlight on this longplayer but even the calmer moments are equipped with enough edges to make them sound great.

Roxy Blue in 2019 has certainly more substance than back in the ’90s. Welcome back guys.



  1. Silver Lining
  2. Rockstar Junkie
  3. Scream
  4. Collide
  5. Outta The Blue
  6. Blinders
  7. Til The Well Runs Dry
  8. Human Race
  9. How Does It Feel
  10. What It’s Like
  11. Overdrive

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: August 9th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑