CD review ENVENOMED ‘The Walking Shred’

(7/10) Australian Heavy Metal has a solid home base in Down Under. Bands like Mortal Sin paved the way for many (Thrash) Metal bands and it’s of course legendary AC/DC and Rose Tattoo that brought the fifth continent on everybody’s Rock radar.

Nowadays it’s the next generation, being in the starting blocks for their Metal adventure. In Envenomed’s case the start happened in the Mid 2000s and it was four years ago when the guys premiered with ‘Evil Unseen’. Together with the sophomore album ‘Reckoning’ Envenomed could score some remarkable successes Down Under, a motivator to also think bigger and wider.

After having signed a deal with German El Puerto Records, it’s the third longplayer, ‘The Walking Shred’ that should kick in doors to the European Metal scene. Envenomed’s music is built on Thrash Metal that shows some parallels with Trivium, generally spoken, with melodic vocal lines and harsh riffs being key characteristics of Envenomed. Take ‘Aware’ as an example. Metallica-ish riffs and catchy vocals go together very well and it’s songs like ‘Rebellion’ that fuses Thrash Metal a la Metallica with Power Metal crosslinks.

If bands like Trivium and other modern Thrash Metal outfits belong to the list of your favorite bands, you also should check out Envenomed. ‘The Walking Shred’ is the band’s first attempt to gain new fans outside Australia and it’s a bolt one. There is certainly some potential for further evolvement and uniqueness, but the first step’s done.



  1. The Walking Shred
  2. Abandoned Hope
  3. The Dead
  4. Aware
  5. Fate Closes the Door
  6. Rebellion
  7. Through the Cold
  8. The Haunting
  9. All That Remains
  10. Sacrifice
  11. Are You Gonna Go My Way (Bonus Track)
  12. Metal United

Label: El Puerto Records

Genre: Modern Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: July 5th, 2019


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: