CD review THY ART IS MURDER ‘Human Target’

(8/10) Thy Art Is Murder’s passion is about Deathcore and it’s the newest album that sets a next standard when it comes to their music. So far the quintet, hailing from Sydney, Australia, has released four longplayers to date and became a well-respected band in the fields of extreme metal.

Two years after ‘Dear Desolation’ has been released it is ‘Human Target’ that doesn’t look ahead to a world that comes with a lot of positivism. Instead Thy Art Is Murder delivers a next album that’s fueled by aggression, disappointment and pessimism. With their new album the guys doesn’t sketch a pink-colored future. It’s a picture that’s filled with darkness, an apocalyptic soundtrack.

‘Human Target’ carries ten new songs, featuring the deadly approach of Death Metal, which the guys combine with the unstoppable energy of Metalcore. The result is 39 minutes of destructive and distracting Metal in its most extreme version. 

It’s surprising that with all this unleashed energy none of the songs ends up in chaos. Thy Art Is Murder rampages through this album without loosing track. There is a preciseness that impresses and it’s the songwriting that helps each of the songs to get to a level beyond blind-folded musical anarchy.  High-speed section and grooving moments, like in ‘Eternal Suffering’, strengthent each other and create a tension for the listener. Instead of drifting away into an uncontrolled riff orgy, the quintet from Down Under is constantly aware of what they are doing and why songs are built the way they are. Not that the five-piece band turned into a progressive Metal outfit, but there are technical elements on this album that are beyond solely face-smashing riff power.

Like presented on the artwork, the album is a merciless musical grinder that asks for all your energy. If you want to stretch your musical limits, check out ‘Human Target’. It’s aiming to you.



  1. Human Target
  2. New Gods
  3. Death Squad Anthem
  4. Make America Hate Again
  5. Eternal Suffering
  6. Welcome Oblivion
  7. Atonement
  8. Voyeurs Into Death
  9. Eye For An Eye
  10. Chemical Christ

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Deathcore

Release Date EU: July 26th, 2019


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: