CD review MAJESTICA ‘Above the Sky’

(6/10) I don’t want to be too critical but the question is, who needs albums like ‘Above the Sky’. Majestica is the new moniker of a band called Reinxeed and it’s Tommy Johansson of Sabaton being one of the creative forces behind Magestica. ‘Above the Sky’ is the new album of Johansson, done together with his brothers in crime Alex Oriz, Chris David and Daniel Sjögren, the latter supporting the band playing live.

Majestica’s album comes with a well done sound but contains songs that are trivial. ‘Father Time’ is one example of a cookie-cutter approach and I probably missed the twinkle in the eye. However, it’s cheesy melodies and standard Melodic Metal that reaches your ears. It’s not a secret that Johansson can handle the guitar very well and that he’s a good singer too is what we know from his contribution to Twilight Force. All this adds plus points to this release, which could be a good one if there would be songs that include a thrill.

‘Above the Sky’ is an album nobody waited for. It features standard songs based on ingredients off the shelf. I can’t get rid of the feeling that this release should cash in some extra gain prior to the upcoming Sabaton album.



  1. Above The Sky
  2. Rising Tide
  3. The Rat Pack
  4. Mötley True
  5. The Way To Redemption
  6. Night Call Girl
  7. Future Land
  8. The Legend
  9. Father Time (Where Are You Now)
  10. Alliance Forever

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: June 7th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑