Arjen Lucassen is a real force when it comes to progressive sounds in rock and metal. Showing his talent already during the early days with Vengeance and their ‘Arabia” album, the Dutch rock icon had huge success with starting Ayreon. Concept albums, filled with great music and done with support of friends and renown musicians established the Dutchman in the fields of progressive music. A crucial factor for the success of Ayreon is the passionate and humble approach of the project initiator. Even though the project got big, Lucassen stayed down-to-earth, always in a close connection with fans.

These days, Lucassen establish a new musical project – Arjen Lucassen’s Supersonic Revolution. The idea is rather simple. Five musicians and lot of fun, these are the key ingredients for a stunning album. Lucassen himself handles the bas while drum icon Koen Herfst provides the heartbeat for the album. Joost van den Broek adds the big keyboard sounds while Timo Somers supplies some riff power. With Jaycee Cuijpers, the band has also a very talented singer in the team and these five guys enjoy the power of rock.

The start of Arjen Lucassen’s Supersonic Revolution was a rather unusual one. German music magazine Eclipsed asked Lucassen, if he has some cover versions in his treasure box which could be used for a CD the magazine was planning. Since there wasn’t anything suitable in the archive it was ZZ Top’s ‘I Heard it on the X’ (as bonus track also on the album), which sparked some passion; not only for covering the song but also for Arjen Lucassen’s Supersonic Revolution.

‘Golden Age of Music’ is the title of the album and probably everyone would mention an own decade which was important for the musical imprint. In this case the 70’s are the fundamental inspiration for the album, manifested in 10 songs and a intro.

The music of Arjen Lucassen’s Supersonic Revolution Is a transfer of the sound and spirit of the 70’s into the here and now. Sounding powerful and dynamic there is still the vibe of the heydays of hard rock present.

‘The Glamattack’ kicks off the album and the massive sound of the Hammond acts as a time machine. Also, the lyrics are with done with a twinkle in the eye, referring to a time when hairspray and glitter became a part of the rock scene.

The title track comes next, and I felt a bit reminded of the earlier Europe, at least in parts. Tone of the main sources of inspiration though are the mighty Deep Purple. The sound of the Hammond organ is one of the reasons why. More important though is the sound in general that makes songs like ‘The Rise of the Starman’ a treat for your ears and there is ‘Burn it Down’. Already the start makes it very clear. This song has more than a few references to the iconic Deep Purple classic ‘Smoke on the Water’. Still, it isn’t a copycat, but more an addition since Arjen Lucassen’s Supersonic Revolution! Takes the perspective of the “Stupid with a flare gun”.

Powerful and emotional, all in one, that is ‘Odyssey’. Musical equipped with a clear compass the song Iis a masterpiece in the new album. Songs and album are not exactly what one would describe as prog rock. It is too straight-forward and still there are many twists and breaks which makes listening to these songs to a great experience. Each of the songs has a bit of an extra touch without threatening the conceptual approach of the album. The layered “Golden Boy” is one example for the versatility of the album and also ‘Holy Holy Ground‘ with its soulful ease builds a great contrast to the roaring guitars of ‘Flight of the century’ which is next. A real rocker, ‘Came to Mock, Stayed to Rock’ brings back the Deep Purple vibe and ends the album in a great fashion.

As bonus, the release also includes for cover version of which the mentioned ZZ Top classic is one off. Furthermore “Children of the revolution” (T-Rex), ‘Fantasy’ (Earth Wind and Fire) and Roger Glover’s ‘Love is All’ honors some icons from a time that shaped rock music.

Arjen Lucassen’s Supersonic Revolution convinces with passion and energy for a sound that paved the way for hard rock and metal. This album is built on fascination and dedication. One cover sparked the idea for a release that enjoys freedom and the hereby spreads an ease that is captivating. Arjen Lucassen’s Supersonic Revolution, that means experts following their heart and the heartbeat is what drives this stellar release.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. SR Prelude
  2. The Glamattack
  3. Golden Age Of Music
  4. The Rise Of The Starman
  5. Burn It Down
  6. Odyssey
  7. They Took Us By Storm
  8. Golden Boy
  9. Holy Holy Ground
  10. Fight Of The Century
  11. Came To Mock, Stayed To Rock
  12. Children Of The Revolution (Bonus Track)
  13. Heard It On The X (Bonus Track)
  14. Fantasy (Bonus Track)
  15. Love Is All (Bonus Track)

Label: Music Theories Recordings

Genre: Classic Rock

Release Date EU: May 19th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: