Review MOUNT ATLAS ‘Poseidon’

Let me introduce Mount Atlas to you briefly. The band hails from Oldenburg, Lower Saxony and the start date was set for 2016. With ‘Titan’ the quintet debuted a year later and it was in 2019 when an EP entitled ‘Mistress’ followed. Naturally, the band wanted to use the momentum to quickly follow up with their sophomore album.

However, the pandemic put a spoke in the wheel and the release of ‘Poseidon’ had to be postponed. Well, postponed is not canceled. On April 1st the second full-length album of the band will be released via Cause Of Deaf Records.

Even though it took until 2023 to finish the longplayer, Mount Atlas already delivered a little appetizer with a 7″ called ‘Magic Potion’ in 2022. The slower song underlines the heavy rock orientation of the band and was a good introduction for ‘Poseidon’.

The new release starts with a song called ‘Down to Earth’. This is more than just a song title, because what comes out of the speakers is down-to-earth rock with elegant swinging organ parts, well done riffs and catchy melody lines. Continuing with ‘Throne of Gold’, Mount Atlas shift up a few gears and pick up speed. The dirty heavy rocker inhales a classic rock spirit, but especially at the beginning Motörhead came to my mind.

Also to recommend is the galloping ‘The Captain’ which steers unerringly towards ‘Open Sea’. The latter song is one of the highlights on the album that unfolds its attraction already at the first listen. The same applies to the title track, in which the god of the sea loudly makes himself heard.

Mount Atlas have with ‘Poseidon’ an excellent second record in the pipeline. Heavy rock with passion is what the fan gets here, whereby the five guys follow their pumping rock’n’roll heart and elegantly sail around trends and hypes. It is fun to listen to ‘Poseidon’ and one can be curious how things will further evolve with Mount Atlas.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Down To Earth
  2. Throne Of Gold
  3. Alien Sunrise
  4. The Captain
  5. I’ll Be Your Guide
  6. Open Sea
  7. Poseidon
  8. Magic Potion
  9. Prehistoric
  10. Elysium

Label: Cause Of Deaf Records

Genre: Heavy Rock

Release Date EU: April 1st, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: