Review DEMONS DOWN ‘I Stand’

Demons Down is a new band and consists of vocalist James Robledo (Sinner’s Blood) and guitarist Francesco Savino (False Memories), along with hard rock scene veterans guitarist Jimi Bell (House of Lords, Autograph), drummer Ken Mary (ex-House of Lords, Alice Cooper, Fifth Angel, etc.), and bassist Chuck Wright (Quiet Riot, bass, ex-House of Lords, etc.).

If you take a look at the bands the five guys have been involved with, you will quickly get a picture of the music you can expect. Melodic hard rock, like House Of Lords practiced on their first albums, is in the focus of attention here. Moreover, the second album of House Of Lords is called ‘Demons Down’ and it is the sound of this album that inspires the band.

After House Of Lords slowly changed in the direction of AOR, Demons Down have kept their rock roots. Of course, catchy melodies, like in ‘Where Will Your Tears Fall’ are in focus. Nevertheless, the five-piece manages, despite all fascination for melodies, to give their songs a certain roughness.

This has to do, among other things, with the powerful voice of frontman James Robledo. The native Chilean has on the one hand a good vocal range and also has the gift to sing rougher vocals, which do not detract from the melody. This makes songs like ‘Book of Love’ and the well done ‘Search Over the Horiozon’ ear candy.

But also the stomping and dramatic ‘I Stand’, which has the honor to open the record, knows how to please.
Demons Down also manage to give their songs a good flow and variety. Listen to ‘Follow Me’ for example, which is with its six minutes playing time one of the longer and at the same time entertaining tracks of the album.

No need to mention that Demons Down have with Ken Mary and Chuck Wright an experienced and powerful rhythm section and it is thanks to the production of Alessandro Del Vecchio that there is nothing wrong when it comes to the sound of the album.

Demons Down deliver with ‘I Stand’ a treat for your ears. Inspired by the sound of the late 80s, when melodic hard rock was booming, the five musicians manage to reproduce the vibe of days gone by and combine it with the untamed power of youth. Not bad.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. I Stand
  2. Disappear
  3. Down In A Hole
  4. On My Way To You
  5. Where Will Our Tears Fall?
  6. Book Of Love
  7. Stranded In The Middle Of Nowhere
  8. Follow Me
  9. To The Edge Of The World
  10. Search Over The Horizon
  11. Only The Brave

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Hard Rock

Release Date EU: March 10th, 2023


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: