Review OCEANHOARSE ‘Heads Will Roll’

Oceanhoarse hail from Finland and state 2016 as the year of their founding. Thus, the four Finns are not exactly to be called newcomers. At the same time, it took a little while for Oceanhoarse to get their debut album into record stores. In the midst of the pandemic, the quartet released ‘Dead Reckoning’ in 2021, the first studio album after a larger number of singles. Even a live album was released before the debut.

With ‘Heads Will Roll’ the band now releases their second album and shows with eleven songs that they definitely have songwriting talent.

Musically, Oceanhoarse are more inclined to traditional heavy metal, which they spice up with a good portion of groove and a modern sound. Since the guys are not completely against melodies, songs like ‘Adrift’ are developed, which fascinates by a good degree of heaviness and at the same time spreads a smoky catchiness.

However, the album starts with a song called ‘Fall Like Dominos’. It’s a gloomy start and even though this mood is carried on throughout the track, the opener turns out to be a well-made metal song that isn’t one of the strongest on the album, though.
More peppy and with clever breaks comes ‘Help is on the Way’ before the crashing ‘Prypopen’ pushes itself into the foreground. ‘Nails’ comes with slamming riffs and a certain melancholy before ‘Carved in Stone’ sets the final note for an album well worth listening to.

‘Heads Will Roll’ is a good metal record that can be listened to more than once. Maybe Oceanhoarse doesn’t use the whole potential they have, but what they offer on ‘Heads Will Roll’ has its charm.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Fall Like Dominoes
  2. Help Is On The Way
  3. Pryopen
  4. Brick
  5. Smoke Signals
  6. Waves
  7. Dead Zone
  8. Heads Will Roll
  9. Adrift
  10. Nails
  11. Carved In Stone

Label: Noble Demon

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: February 17th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: