Review BIG CITY ‘Sunwind Sails’

Big City is the brainchild of Daniel Olaisen who started the band and gave the outfit an 80’s rock and melodic metal sound. The 2014 released debut album gave a first taste of what the Norwegians stand for and the newest record ‘Sunwind Sails’ marks the fourth release of the five-piece band.

In 2019, Big City welcomed with Jørgen Bergersen a new singer who is also responsible for the vocals on the newest prove of work. His voice fits the sound of the band very well. Bergersen can handle a very solid vocals range that also include high-pitch scream, like at the end of ‘Sons of Desire’.

As mentioned, Big City have passion for melodic hard rock with roots in the 80’s. At the same time songs as the pounding ‘Collin’s Looking For a Hideout’ and the firing opener ‘I’m Somebody’ have enough of an own identity to shine on their own.

Songs like ‘Now’ are more from the shelf and fortunately these moments are rarely to find. The main part of tracks are the energetic ones with songs like ‘After the Raid’. Also the hard-hitting title track belongs to the exciting moments of the album although the song needs a few runs to unfold its full potential.

In total one can conclude that ‘Sunwind Sails’ is a very well-done melodic hard rock album that sometimes also includes metallic moments. Hooks and melodies are a central element of Big City, always balanced by rocking guitars, giving the album its power. Fans of Scandinavian rock/metal will not be disappointed by ‘Sunwind Sails’.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. I’m Somebody
  2. Sons Of Desire
  3. Human Mind
  4. Collin’s Looking for A Hideout
  5. Diamond In the Rough
  6. Now
  7. After The Raid
  8. Sunwind Sails
  9. Silver Line
  10. Sparks Of Eternity

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Hard Rock

Release Date EU: January 20th, 2023



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: