Review IRON ALLIES ‘Blood In, Blood Out’

When Herman Frank and David Reece join forces, then one can speak with a clear conscience of a metal alliance. Both guitarist and singer are known among other things through their time with Germany’s metal heroes Accept, but have also had enough other projects at the start, which additionally strengthened their position in metal.

Now these two veterans have joined forces and what band name could fit better than Iron Allies. Here the name says it all and what has found a spot on the tracklist of the debut album ‘Blood In Blood Out’ reflects heavy metal in its purest form.

Trends and current hypes are missing on this disc. Instead you get offered traditionally shaped heavy metal that invites you to intense headbanging. Take for example the fast ‘Fear No Evil’; a song where you can’t stand still. Too powerful the song blasts out of the speakers and also the following ‘Evil the Gun’ is equal to it. Riff attacks and a powerful beat, that’s what makes the song an explosive metal highlight.
Already the start into the album is a treat. ‘Full of Surprises’ marks a tremendous starting point where riff power and melody are in the spotlight. Together with Reece’s raspy voice the song is a well chosen opener that arouses a curiosity for more.

Photo: Kai Swillus

The dark ‘Nightmares in my Mind’ is exciting too, with slower parts that alternate with snappy metal moments. Francesco Jovino (d) and Malte Burkert deliver the powerful heartbeat, which immediately gets metal fans’ blood pumping. This rhythm section is also the one who starts the beat driven ‘Freezin’. The rock’n’roll roots clearly come to the surface here and the song proves to be a thundering stomper on an all-around successful album. However, in order not to drift away into too slow territory, Iron Allies immediately follow up with a musical fast train called ‘Truth Never Matter’ before one of Herman’s awesome riffs introduces the end of ‘Blood In, Blood Out’. ‘We are Legend (You and I)’ is the thumping closer and sums up the record in an excellent fashion.

‘Blood In, Blood Out’ is a long player that comes without frills and gimmicks. This denim and leather sound transports the feeling of heavy metal in perfection and is not inspired by short-term trends. Iron Allies works hard and with every song you can feel the dirt under the fingernails. Horns up for Iron Allies.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Full Of Surprises
  2. Blood In Blood Out
  3. Destroyers Of the Night
  4. Fear No Evil
  5. Evil The Gun
  6. Martyrs Burn
  7. Blood On the Land
  8. Nightmares In My Mind
  9. Selling Out
  10. Freezin
  11. Truth Never Mattered
  12. We Are Legend (You And I)

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: October 21st, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: