Review ORIANTHI ‘Rock Candy’

Not least due to her time in the live band of rock icon Alice Cooper, Orianthi Panagaris has built up an excellent reputation as a guitarist. In addition, the guitarist from Adelaide, Australia released a whole series of solo albums of which ‘O’ in 2020 is the most recent.

These days, a follow-up, ‘Rock Candy’, hits the record stores. Orianthi shows on the newest release that she is both, an outstanding guitarist and has great songwriting talent. Together with Jacob Bunton and Kyle Cunningham the guitarist has recorded an album that covers the full range of modern hard rock.

Represented are emotional outbursts like ‘Where Did Your Heart Go’, a rich half-ballad with plenty of goosebump moments. The heavier and rocking aspects come in nicely on songs like the roaring ‘Light It Up’, the throbbing ‘Void’ and driving ‘Getting Me On’. The dark side appears on the intense and bluesy ‘Witches & the Devil’. In addition, the album contains with ‘Red Light’ a varied song which jumps back and forth between a wild bridge, great chorus and laid-back verse.

In summary, it can be said that Orianthi has once again delivered an album of the extra class. Not only every note is spot on. Rather, it is the good sense for the great melody lines which makes this album a very listenable treat.

‘Rock Candy’, that’s delicious ear candy.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Illuminate (Part I)
  2. Light It Up
  3. Fire Together
  4. Where Did Your Heart Go
  5. Red Light
  6. Void
  7. Burning
  8. Living Is Like Dying Without You
  9. Witches & The Devil
  10. Getting To Me
  11. Illuminate (Part Ii)

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: October 14th, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: