Review THE DEAD DAISIES ‘Radiance’

In a certain way The Dead Daisies are the proof that it is not only the constancy of a line-up that influences the quality of a band. In the case of The Dead Daisies, it seems that the changes in the band constellation are the enriching factor.

Founded by David Lowy, the band started in 2012 and has seen several line-up changes over the last few years. Lowy is the only remaining founding member and keeps things together. This passion is a factor in the band’s success. In addition, however, there are a number of well-known rock and metal greats who have brought The Dead Daisies to where they are today. The Dead Daisies are therefore more of a collective than simply a band. This does not hinder their musical success. On the contrary.

Photo: Oliver Halfin

With ‘Radiance’ the band is releasing their new album these days and as expected there are ten songs that cover the whole range of well done hard rock.

‘Radiance’ sounds crisp and fresh, which is partly due to singer Glenn Hughes. The iconic frontman can already be heard on the previous album ‘Holy Ground’ and delivers a high-energy performance this time as well. Whether on the crashing ‘Hypnotize Yourself’ or the emotional closer ‘Roll On’, Hughes is always in command and in full control of his voice.

Also worthy of mention is the pumping ‘Shine On’ whose magic is hard to escape. This is equally true of the slower and slightly hypnotic ‘Born to Fly’. ‘Cascade’ features a driving beat and while the gritty title track nicely completes the various aspects of The Dead Daisies sound.

The Dead Daisies have lost none of their fascination and ‘Radiance’ fits perfectly into the quintet’s discography. The band constantly reinvents itself, does not repeat itself and yet remains true to the basic principles of their sound. Hard rock is still alive here and the heart of rock’n’roll is still beating.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Face Your Fear
  2. Hypnotize Yourself
  3. Shine On
  4. Radiance
  5. Born to Fly
  6. Kiss The Sun
  7. Courageous
  8. Cascade
  9. Not Human
  10. Roll On

Label: The Dead Daisies Pty Ltd

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: September 30th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: