Review TRAUMA ‘Awakening’

Trauma, for many, is the band where Cliff Burton played bass before joining Metallica, providing the guys with an incomparable groove. Trauma, however, are more than just the above-mentioned band with Cliff Burton.

Trauma began in 1981 in San Francisco and delivered no more than one album in their first phase. ‘Scratch and Scream’ was released in 1984 before the band disappeared from the scene and disbanded in 1985.

Several years later the band got back together and was ready to express their passion for thrash metal with new songs. Especially drummer Kris Gustofson is the driving force behind Trauma.

With ‘Awakening’ the five-piece from California has a new album in the starting blocks and was it in the early phase of the band only one album that Trauma could release, so it is now already three new albums that could be registered in the discography since 2015.

‘Awakening’ offers above all well-crafted thrash metal, which, as in ‘Death of the Angel’ also does not shy away from a few melodic moments. Trauma combine their thrash metal heritage with some power metal elements, which is not really innovative, but very pleasant to listen to.

‘Awakening’ convinces with power and enthusiasm. The album is a bit like a journey into the past which benefits sound-wise from the possibilities of today. ‘Awakening’ will not put Trauma in the first league of thrash metal, but will find a larger following in the metallic underground. Friends of the Bay Area sound should check out ‘Awakening’.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Walk Away
  2. Ted Talks
  3. Death of The Angel
  4. Meat
  5. The River Red
  6. Burn
  7. Falling Down
  8. Voodoo
  9. End of Everything
  10. Blind
  11. Death Machine

Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Thrash-/Power Metal

Release Date EU: August 9th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: