Review SPIRIT ADRIFT ’20 Centuries Gone’

Spirit Adrift, from Austin, Texas, have not been idle and have recorded a new EP. ’20 Centuries Gone’ is the name of the new record and the trio shows again that their heart is beating for heavy metal and doom metal.

This time, however, the guys have not only recorded own songs, but have also added a homage to their idols. The start, though, is made by two new songs written by the trio. ‘Sorcerer’s Fate’ is a typical and stomping Spirit Adrift track, which offers a lot of variety throughout the five minutes of playing time. Especially the massive middle part is a treat and encourages headbanging.

The second new song is called ‘Mass Formation Psychosis’ with which the band has put their preference for doom metal to music. It is a dark song, which starts thundering and loud. However, after a while the guys reduce the tempo and a Sabbath-ish heaviness kicks in. Driven by a ton of heavy riffs, the song bursts into the listener’s subconscious and shows why Spirit Adrift has had an impressive rise. The band has some serious potential and the new songs prove it.

As far as cover songs go, the trio has a wide range at their disposal. ‘Everything Dies’ is the first of six covers and what stands out is that the band stays close to the original without simply replaying the song. There is always a spark of their own identity woven in which gives the whole set a certain charm. This also applies to Pantera’s ‘Hollow’ and ‘Escape’, in the original by Metallica. Since Spirit Adrift has also not chosen the very major hymns of the bands proves to be a wise decision.

The remaining three cover versions show that the influences are more wide-ranging. Thin Lizzy (‘Waiting For an Alibi’), ZZ Top (‘Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings’) and Lynryd Skynryd (‘Poison Whiskey’) show that the band is also influenced by hard rock and southern rock.

’20 Centuries Gone’ is a well-made EP on which the two new songs act as appetizers for a full-length album.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Sorcerer’s Fate
  2. Mass Formation Psychosis
  3. Everything Dies (Type O Negative cover)
  4. Hollow (Pantera cover)
  5. Escape (Metallica cover)
  6. Waiting for an Alibi (Thin Lizzy cover)
  7. Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings (ZZ Top cover)
  8. Poison Whiskey (Lynyrd Skynyrd cover)

Label: Century Media

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: August 19th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: