Review LIV KRISTINE ‘Enter My Religion’

To say it right away, Liv Kristine’s new album doesn’t have much in common with metal. Rather, it is well-crafted rock songs that jump at you, some with a greater pop twist.

Kristine became known as a singer with Theater Of Tragedy and continued her success with Leaves Eye. Now the Norwegian is on the way solo and releases with ‘Enter My Religion’ an album that has decent power, but as said, also tries to score with a very poppy overall expression. It is the opener ‘Over the Moon’ that provides very well what the album has to offer. If you then take the second song ‘Fake a Smile’ with it, then the basic layout of the record is well described. ‘Fake a Smile’ is a peaceful and melancholic song that delights with its melodic flow, but is far away from hard guitar sound.

‘Coming Home’ hits the same spot before ‘Trapped in Your Labyrinth’ brings a little more momentum back into the tracklist.

With ‘Streets of Philadelphia’, Kristine has dared to tackle a true classic of music history. The song, originally by Bruce Springsteen, comes from the ‘Streets of Philadelpia’ soundtrack and has an extra challenge with its message and depth. Kristine nevertheless does a good job handling it. While the cover version is musically close to the original, it is the delicate and sensitive voice of the Norwegian that gives the song a new fragility. A great emotional moment.

With ‘You Take me Higher’ the swing comes back, but also the preference for poppy rock music.
‘Enter My Religion’ is an album that relies on feeling and sees the pop melody as the basis for good songs. Lovers of heavy guitar rock and straight riffs will certainly not find what they are looking for on this album. Nevertheless, this record has enough class to please even the leather and denim faction at least during sentimental moments.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Over the Moon
  2. Fake a Smile
  3. All the Time in the World
  4. My Revelation
  5. Coming Home
  6. Trapped in your Labyrinth
  7. Blue Emptiness
  8. You Are the Night
  9. Enter my Religion
  10. Streets of Philadelphia
  11. You Take Me Higher
  12. For a Moment

Label: Allegro Talent Media

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: August 19th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: