Review DEFIATORY ‘Apokalyps’

Bay Area Thrash Metal has certainly left its mark on Defiatory. The five guys from Umeå have definitely listened to the music of bands like Testament more than once before they started Defiatory in 2015.
After recording their first album with ‘Extinct’ in 2016, ‘Hades Rising’ followed two years later. Now it’s time to send the third record towards record stores.

‘Apocalyps’ is the title of the latest release and Defiatory let loose the steam quite a bit. Well, the sound of the five Swedes is not really inventive. Too often the sound of their idols comes to play. However, it must be pointed out that the quintet has definitely decent songs up their sleeves. In this context, the ultra-fast and furious ‘Belligerent and Hostile’ should be mentioned. Also ‘No Place to Hide’ convinces with a high tempo and shows that the guys know very well what they are doing.

‘Knives’ pleases with its rock spirit while the final ‘Counting Bones’ proves that the guys can also write songs that with over six minutes definitely demonstrate songwriting skills.

‘Apokalyps’ is an album that is easy to listen to throughout. Leaning on the sound of the Bay Area, the guys go to work with passion and follow their own course. Fans of bands like Exodus and Testament might like this one.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Apocalypse
  2. Only War
  3. Belligerent and Hostile
  4. Into the Unknown
  5. No Place to Hide
  6. Knives
  7. Let Them Burn
  8. Assassinate
  9. Counting Bones

Label: Black Lion Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: June 3rd, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: