Review JEFF SCOTT SOTO ‘Complicated’

Jeff Scott Soto is a name I don’t think I have to introduce to you. The singer, gifted with a great voice, enriched longplayers from Talisman to Sons Of Apollo. Soto also released solo album during all the year with ‘Love Parade’ being the first one in 1994.

Now the eighth longplayer arrived at the record stores and is entitled ‘Complicated’. Although the title of the album refers to complicated things, the songs on the album are well-forged but not complicated. It is an easy thing to approach the tunes on Soto’s new delivery. Melodic Hard rock is what Soto offers, covering all the aspects such an album needs to have in place. ‘Until I See You Again’ is the emotion-laden ballad while Soto’s voice shines much brighter when songs are faster and harder. The opener ‘Last to Know’ but also the well-rocking ‘New Horizon’ are excellent moments on an album that offers quality and at the same time doesn’t bring that much new to the table.

While listening to the album I had to think about the unique factors, making ‘Complicated’ different from other melodic rock releases. To answer this question is a bit complicated and at the end it is Soto’s voice that makes each song shine a bit brighter. Without his voice we would face a standard melodic rock album with songs being good but not extraordinary.

‘Complicated’ is a well-crafted melodic rock album without edges and surprises. It is a solid rock record with a singer that belongs to the major league of rock singers. It always a stellar experience to listen to Soto’s voice that, in this case, makes standard songs a bit better. Solid, I would say.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Last To Know
  2. Disbelieving
  3. Home Again
  4. Love Is The Revolution
  5. Until I See You Again
  6. Complicated
  7. Don’t Look Back
  8. New Horizon
  9. Back To The Beginning
  10. Thank You
  11. Obsession

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: May 6th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: