Review HALESTORM ‘Back from the Dead’

The Hale’s are back. Lzzy and Arejay Hale are the driving forces of Halestorm since the late ‘90s when the band was founded. Together with guitarist Joe Hottinger and bassist Josh Smith, the band premiered in 2009 with the self-titled first album, the springboard for a deal with Atlantic Records. What followed until today is an impressive career with records entering charts on a regular base.

Four years after ‘Vicious’ hit the shelves the next album is available. ‘Back From the Dead’ is the title of Halestorm’s fifth effort and it is the anticipated next longplayer. ‘Back From the Dead’ features eleven songs and no weak spot.

The title track kicks things off. It’s a powerful rock song that includes all Halestorm trademarks. No doubt, it is the voice of Lzzy Hale that has a strong impact on the musical signature of the band. Hale can combine wild screams, a raspy voice, and tangible moments, all reflected in the title track. Together with the filigree guitar play by Hottinger the starting point of the album is a great experience for fans of high-octane rock.

‘Back From Dead’ is an album that gives the idea of being a help to process the times of isolation during the pandemic. Halestorm is a band that loves to play live and not being able to do their most favorite thing was tough. At the same time, giving up isn’t an option either and the longplayer reflects all the emotional ups and downs. There are the hard-hitting tracks like ‘Wicked Ways’ and ‘Brightside’. The counterpart to these furious riff attacks are songs like the fragile and emotional ‘The Steeple’. ‘Bombshell’ is another soulful moment on the album. Both tunes also show the width of Hale’s voice. Regardless of if it is the loud tones or the moving parts, Lzzy Hale generates a lot of emotional impact with her voice what makes songs and album to a passionate musical journey.

Halestorm’s newest effort showcases the band in great shape. There is a lot of variation that is captured on ‘Back From the Dead’ and we can already excitedly look forward to the tour with Alter Bridge. Halestorm for sure will bring this energy to stage and hereby might be a challenge for the main act. However, ‘Back From the Dead’ is a bold statement of Halestorm being back and didn’t lose anything of their strength.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Back From the Dead
  2. Wicked Ways
  3. Strange Girl
  4. Brightside
  5. The Steeple
  6. Terrible Things
  7. My Redemption
  8. Bombshell
  9. I Come First
  10. Psycho Crazy
  11. Rise Your Horns

Label: Atlantic

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: May 6th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: