Review ROBIN TROWER ‘No More Worlds to Conquer’

Robin Trower is a true veteran when it comes to blues rock. The 76-years old guitarist from the UK has been a driving force of Procol Harum in the ‘60s before the six-string artist started an impressive solo career with many stellar albums over time.

These days Trower returns with a new album. ‘No More Worlds to Conquer’ is the title of his newest effort, a record with eleven well-crafted rock and blues songs. Trower, who inspired a next generation of guitarists, like Steve Lukather and Mikael Åkerfeldt, delights with great songs.

There is the cool grooving opener ‘Ball of Fire’ as well as there is the slow and intense ‘Deadly Kiss’. The latter has an almost hypnotic vibe and in a way the songs like if prince would have entered the blues. In between these two songs sits the impressive title track of the album, a song with a lot of feel that is embedded. These first three songs of the album reflect in a good way what ‘No More Worlds to Conquer’ offers.

The great thing with pioneers like Trower is, that they don’t have to prove that they can write great songs. They just do it. It also allows the guitarist to cruise through the track listing of the album with an ease and confidence. Gifted with talent and gained experience are the crucial aspects, helping the album to sound fantastic. Also to mention is the Tamla Motown-inspired ‘Waiting for the Rain to Fall’.

Trower handles guitar and bass on the album. At the same time, it’s always the song that is in focus than the ego. This is the base for the veteran to invite with Chris Taggart and excellent drummer and not to forget is the importance of singer Richard Watts. It’s the soulful voice of Watts that adds to the emotional impact of songs and album.

‘No More Worlds to Conquer’ is a stellar album. Trower shows again why he belongs to the champions league of blues- and rock music. He allows the guitar to sing and each of the songs is a kind of well-done duet between singer and guitar. Folks, being passionate about soulful, dynamic and gentle swinging music that entails a lot of passion too will like ‘No More Worlds to Conquer’.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Ball of Fire
  2. No More Worlds to Conquer
  3. Deadly Kiss
  4. Birdsong
  5. Losing You
  6. Waiting for the Rain to Fall
  7. Wither on the Vine
  8. Cloud Across the Sun
  9. Fire to Ashes
  10. The Razor’s Edge
  11. I Will Always be Your Shelter

Label: Provogue Records

Genre: Blues

Release Date EU: April 29th, 2022


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: