Review NIGHT DEMON ‘Year of the Demon’

Southern California metal musketeers Night Demon worked on a special compilation album which will be in the stores end of March this year. ‘Year of the Demon’ is the meaningful title of a longplayer the entails tens songs.

Night Demon released a self-titled EP in 2012, a springboard for an impressive and energetic trip through the hemisphere of heavy metal. To pay attention to the 10 years anniversary Jarvis Leatherby (vocals/bass), Armand John Anthony (guitar) and Dusty Squires (drums) the trio decided to unleash ‘Year of the Demon’, an album that doesn’t contain un-released material. With touring plans that went down the drain due to the pandemic, Night Demon decided to record songs, which they released as 7” vinyl pressings during 2020. ‘Empires Fall’ was the starting point and ‘In Trance’ ended the series in August 2020.

The 7”s were sold-out rather quickly everybody who missed them can catch-up now. ‘Year of the Demon’ contains A- and B-sides. In chronological order, the setlist echoes the release flow which means that it all starts with melodic metal anthem ‘Empires Fall’. The massive ‘Kill the Pain’ is next, referring to the NWoBHM.

Not to forget is the straight-ahead ‘Vysteria’ before the Scorpions cover ‘In Trance’ introduces some cover versions. There are two covers of the German metal icons on this release. Next to ‘In Trance’, ‘Top of the Bill’ has been Night Demon-ized too, done in a collaboration of now less than Uli Jon Roth. A Night Demon live version of Iron Maiden’s ‘Wasted Years’ is part of the tracklist as well a Thin Lizzy cover. ‘The Sun Goes Down’ shows the bands honoring an influential band as the other covers do too. The fact of Night Demon playing a Cirith Ungol song isn’t a surprise as we know that Jarvis Leatherby handles the bass for the epic metal specialists. The band gets support by Cirith Ungol frontman Tim Baker who added vocals to this impressive version of an epic metal classic.

‘Year of the Demon’ is a way to celebrate the first 10 years of Night Demon as well as the album bridges the waiting time for a new studio album which is scheduled for November 4th, 2022.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Empires Fall
  2. Kill the Pain
  3. Are You Out There
  4. Vysteria
  5. In Trance (Scorpions cover – Live feat. Uli Jon Roth)
  6. Fast Bikes (LeGriffe cover)
  7. 100 MPH (Cirith Ungol cover feat. Tim Baker [Cirith Ungol])
  8. The Sun Goes Down (Tin Lizzy cover)
  9. Wasted Years (Iron Maiden cover – Live)
  10. Top Of the Bill (Scorpions cover – Live feat. Uli Jon Roth)

Label: Century Media

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: March 25th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: