Review BATTLE BEAST ‘Circus of Doom’

‘Circus of Doom’ is the title of the new Battle Beast album and those who are afraid that the Finns will turn to slower and darker metal do not have to worry. Battle Beast remain true to the symphonic and melodic metal on their new album.

In addition, the record is also not a concept album on the theme of ‘circus’. However, those who have experienced the band live know that Battle Beast always have a certain theatricality included.

That the album is entitled ‘Circus of Doom’ is due to the title song. After a short intro, the song develops into a melodic metal track that also features a certain complexity. It is not a classic sing-along song. ‘Circus of Doom’ is bulky and you have to listen to the track a few times to get a solid impression. The fact that the track is at number one on the tracklist shows that Battle Beast want to send a signal and demonstrate that their music is more multi-layered than some might think. Variety is certainly offered on this album and as an example ‘Russian Roulette’ should be mentioned. This is certainly the catchiest song on the album, a smash hit that will surely be on the setlist of upcoming live shows. A certain pop appeal cannot be denied. However, the Finns are experienced enough not to drown in shallow melodies. A certain degree of heaviness is always present, no matter how complex or catchy the different tracks are.

The anthemic ‘Where the Angels Fear to Fly’ is a song worth mentioning from two aspects. First, it shows Battle Beast’s ability to write great songs. Also, the song is lyrically interesting as it is dedicated to those who make the world a better place where discrimination and prejudice have no space, people who have experienced this very thing first hand.

These more thoughtful moments are counterbalanced by melodies that are impossible to resist. I already mentioned ‘Russian Roulette’ and ‘The Road to Avalon’ fits in seamlessly. Pounding beats is what ‘Armageddon’ is all about before the album comes to a finish with the brisk ‘Place That We Call Home’.
‘Circus of Doom’ is a very well-done album. Battle Beast stay true to their trademarks and at the same time impress with a versatility that creates a good arc of tension. Well done Battle Beast.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Circus Of Doom
  2. Wings Of Light
  3. Master Of Illusion
  4. Where Angels Fear To Fly
  5. Eye Of The Storm
  6. Russian Roulette
  7. Freedom
  8. The Road To Avalon
  9. Armageddon
  10. Place That We Call Home

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Symphonic Metal

Release Date EU: January 21st, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: