Review WIEGEDOOD ‘ There’s Always Blood At The End Of The Road ‘

A new album from Belgium’s Wiegedood means gloom, doom and despair. This was the musical direction of the first three albums and the new disc ‘There’s Always Blood at the End of the Road’ does not change anything regarding this basic direction.

Wiegedood released the debut album ‘De Doden Hebben Het Goed’ in 2015 which together with the two following albums forms a trilogy. If it was always the title track that took the central spot on the tracklist, the band goes different ways this time.

Musically, everything remains the same, while the title of the new album clarifies the dark view, but still deviates from the previous concept. In addition, this time there is no title track, but nine tracks that are kept shorter. With ‘Wade’ there is even an acoustic interlude which is a well-done counterpoint to the nihilistic tracks on the album.

The start, however, could hardly be more brutal. ‘FN SCAR 16’ is a raging track that kicks off the album. Together with the nagging vocals, the song is a ferocious start to an infernal album and if you think you’ve made it through four minutes you’ll be proven wrong. ‘And In Old Salamano’s Room, The Dog Whimpered Softly’ doesn’t change anything about the basic formula and hammers out of the speakers with bilious brutality. Interesting, however, is the slower yet vehement middle section, which gives the song an extra layer.

With ‘Now Will Always Be’, Wiegedood has also put a longer song on the album this time. Compared to the musical outbursts, the song begins almost harmonically. However, this does not last long and the song picks up speed. With hypnotically appearing repetitions, the song tears down everything that gets in its way.

Wiegedood delivers with ‘There’s Always Blood at the End of the Road’ a vicious and wild album. Frenzied tempo and unbridled musical uncompromisingness cause a feeling of irritation and discomfort for the listener. It’s an uncomfortable album and that’s what makes it so appealing.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. FN SCAR 16
  2. And In Old Salamano’s Room, The Dog Whimpered Softly
  3. Noblesse Oblige Richesse Oblige
  4. Until It Is Not
  5. Now Will Always Be
  6. Wade
  7. Nuages
  8. Theft And Begging
  9. Carousel

Label: Century Media

Genre: Black Metal

Release Date EU: January 14th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: