Hammerheart Records re-issues HEIR APPARENT debut

Heir Apparent, from Seattle, Washington, belong to the veterans of progressive metal. With a founding date in 1984, the progressive powerhouse premiered in 1986 with an album called ‘Graceful Inheritance’.

With great songs and limited means, the band put the planned debut on hold in 1984 and released a 5-track demo instead.  This first sign of life was much appreciated and helped the band to gain local awareness from radio stations. This was the first step towards ‘Graceful Inheritance’, an album that belongs to the timeless classics of progressive US metal to date. Originally released through Black Dragon Records, the debut brought the quintet a lot of attention.

What could have been a great start into a successful career in metal was the starting point of a journey that didn’t bring the bright side of life to the band on a constant base. As a consequence, the band stopped in 1990 after having released with ‘One Small Voice’ their stellar sophomore record.

‘Graceful Inheritance’ has a cult status in powerful US metal. Remaining in the underground metal scene, Heir Apparent is a well-sounding name in the universe of metal and the demand for the debut was higher than the originally number of copies. Several re-issues have been the consequence with Hammerheart Records unleashing a next remastered version of this legendary album on January 21st, 2022. This will be good news especially for vinyl fans since the longplayer will, next to a CD version, also be released as a 12” inch vinyl including the thirteen song tracklist that begins with ‘Entrance’ and finishes off with ‘A.N.D. Dogro Lived On’. If you’re a metal fan and identified a gap in your collection when it comes to Heir Apparent, then this is the moment to close it.


  1. Entrance
  2. Another candle
  3. The Servant
  4. Tear Down the Walls
  5. Running from the thunder
  6. The cloak
  7. R.I.P (live)
  8. Hands of Destiny
  9. Keeper of the Reign
  10. Dragon’s Lair
  11. Masters of Invasion
  12. Nightmare (Faces in the Dark)
  13. A.n.D. … Dogro lived on

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: