OVERKILL released ‘The Atlantic Years 1986-1994’ box set

The thrash metal movement started in the early ‘80s. A raw and fast metal genre grew and gained momentum with the San Francisco Bay Area being one cradle for this fierce style. And also the East Coast of the US didn’t stand in the shadows of the Bay Area with bands like Anthrax that started an impressive career. And there is Overkill, a band that premiered with ‘Feel the Fire’ in a very impressive way.

The band from New Jersey, with a moniker inspired by the title of an Motörhead classic, embarked on an impressive journey through the realms of heavy metal. After having had the strong debut out in the stores, Overkill added next records to their discography, milestones in metal. Under the banner of ‘The Atlantic Years 1986 – 1994’ the boxset of six longplayers hit the shelves and summarizes the early achievements of Bobby Blitz, D.D. Verni & Co.

The furious ‘Taking Over’ is part of this boxset as well as the full-force metal ride called ‘Under the Influence’. These records feature songs that are classics, tune that can be found on setlists of Overkill live shows since decades. Not to forget is the remarkable ‘The Years of Decay’ with headbangers like ‘Elimination’ and ‘I Hate’. The album contains with ‘Playing with Spiders / Skullscrusher’ a ten-minute epos that surprises by running time but also a reduced pace. Overkill entered the fields of doom, at least for these ten minutes.

Not bad, but also with a little bit less steam, that’s what ‘I Hear Black’ and ‘W.F.O.’ represents. After guitarist Bobby Gustafson left the band in 1990, the band went through a period when the gap, that Gustafson left, had to be closed with new guitar power.

Driven by the willpower and passion of founding members Blitz and Verni, Overkill went through this period with self-esteem and dedication and navigated the band to a next peak.

Overkill is one of the most influential thrash metal bands. The heaviness of metal and the anarchic energy of punk, all merged and allowed Overkill to create a sound that was jaw-dropping in the ‘80s and is still fascinating in the 2020th.

For Europe, release date of the box set is December 3rd, 2021 and the release comes as CD and vinyl.

  • Taking Over (1987)
  • Under the Influence (1988)
  • The Years of Decay (1989)
  • Horrorscope (1991)
  • I Hear Black (1993)
  • W.F.O. (1994)

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: