KATATONIA will release ‚Mnemosynean‘ this Friday

Time is flying, which maybe has to do with my age too. It certainly doesn’t feel like three decades when Katatonia started their exciting trip into the worlds of progressive and dark metal.

The journey wasn’t a very straight one in the beginning after Jonas Renske and Anders Nyström started the band in the 90s. Death- and doom metal was fascinating for the band in the very early days and slowly shifted into the dark areas of emotional-laden rock music. Melancholy was what accompanied the band for more than 30 years and every album had a very emotional aspect.

Katatonia never unleashed a weak or average album. The band always delivered quantity and quality. To celebrate the achievements within three decades, the quintet decided to release a special album with a tongue-twister title.

Photo: Ester Segarra

‚Mnemosynean‘, that the name of a 27 songs featuring release that will hit the shelfs on October 1st. To not just ending up with a kind of ‚Best of…‘-album the band went into the archives and put together a tracklist that features songs from EP’s, unheard album songs, cover songs and more.

What adds an extra finish to this release is the band’s biography, all lyrics and some backgrounds to the origins of the tracks.

‚Mnemosynean‘ sums-up 30 years of Katatonia and hopefully is the starting signal for some more years with progressive and dark rock music that blossoms in all shades of grey.


Disc 1:

  1. Vakaren
  2. Sistere
  3. Wide Awake In Quietus
  4. Night Comes Down
  5. Second
  6. The Act Of Darkening
  7. Ashen
  8. Sold Heart
  9. Displaced
  10. Dissolving Bonds
  11. Unfurl
  12. Code Against The Code

Disc 2:

  1. Wait Outside
  2. Sulfur
  3. March 4
  4. O How I Enjoy The Light
  5. Help Me Disappear
  6. Fractured
  7. No Devotion
  8. Quiet World
  9. Scarlet Heavens
  10. In The White (Urban Dub)
  11. My Twin (Opium Dub Version)
  12. Soil`s Song (Krister Linder 2012 remix)
  13. Day And Then The Shade (Frank Default remix)
  14. Idle Blood (Linje 14)
  15. Hypnone (Frank Default Hypnocadence mix)

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: