Review VELVET INSANE ‘Rock’n’Roll Glitter Suit’

Here comes some glam rock from Sweden. Velvet Insane is the brainchild of Jesper Lindgren who with Velvet Insane everything into a musical direction, glamorous rock that entails big choruses, great hooks a lot of a positive vibe.

With Jesper Sandström (b) a first partner in crime was found who brought along his friend Jonas Eriksson (d). After having released a first EP, line-up adjustments had to be made in 2014. A second EP, ‘Youth on Fire’, saw the light of day in September 2014. Five years later the full-length debut followed, which was actually recorded already in 2016. After a couple of addititional line-up changes, Velvet Insane worked on new material and unleash with ‘A Brand New Start’ a next single that features no less than guitarist Bruce Kulick. 

Now it is time for a new album to continue the vivid trip through glam rock. ‘Rock’n’Roll Glitter Suit’ is the title of the new album, released by Velvet Insane. Deeply rooted in the 70s and inspired by bands like T-Rex, Slade and David Bowie, the longplayer comprises of eleven songs. 

The upbeat ‘Backstreet Liberace’ has been unveiled as a single already earlier and features with Dregen another well-known contributor. Glitter is not only a word that is mentioned in the title of this longplayer. Each of the songs contain quite some musical glitter too, reflected by songs like ‘Spin on Crazy Moon’ and the heavy grooving ‘Space Age DJ’. The ease and good vibes, carried by this song, are infectious. Or are you in need for an emotional musical offer? In this case you should drop the needle at ‘Midnight Sunshine Serenade’ which is a soulful and touching ballad that follows the sounds of 70s with pure emotions being embedded.

Velvet Insane has added a vivid and dynamic album to their musical vita. ‘Rock’n’Roll Glitter Suit’ is entertaining and provides joy from start to finish. It has a great sound and at the same time feels organic and not over-produced. If you want to have a good time, this record should be one of your first choices.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Driving Down the Mountain
  2. Backstreet Liberace
  3. Jaded Eyes
  4. Velvet Tongue
  5. Sound of Sirens
  6. Ride the Skyways
  7. Soin on Crazy Moon
  8. Sailing on a Thunderstorm
  9. Midnight Sunshine Serenade
  10. Space Age DJ
  11. You’ re the Revolution

Label: Wild Kingdom

Genre: Glam Rock

Release Date EU: July 16th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: