Review LAURENNE / LOUHIMO ‘The Reckoning’

There is always something good that comes with something bad. Not being able to tour cleared out the agendas of many bands and musicians. To not stand still to sit down and wait, new musical projects made the turn from fantasy to reality.  One of these projects, a really exciting one, comes from Finland. Noora Louhimo (Battle Beast) and Netta Laurenne (Smackbound) had the idea of a collaboration since quite a while but never found space in the agendas to realize the ambition. 

The initial idea for such a collaboration came from Netta Laurenne. The singer worked together with Thunderstone guitarist Nino Laurenne on songs for the album and when Netta asked Noora Louhimo to join, enthusiasm was present right away, not only due to a shared musical interest, but also because both singers share the same hometown, Tampere.

‘The Reckoning’ is the title of the album the two impressive singers release these days. In total ten songs represent the greatness of melodic metal, presented in a great fashion. Riff and melodies are what drives each of these tracks, songs that are party kept in a bit of a darker spirit ‘Tongue of Dirt’) as well as they are thunderous metal outbursts, like ‘Bitch Fire’ build on a Judas Priest-ish pattern.

The two ladies don’t leave any doubt that this album is about metal. The opener ‘Time to Kill the Night’ is a stellar way how to start off this longplayer. Hooks and guitar power find the right sweet spot which makes the track to one of the best ones on ‘The Reckoning’. Moving from the start to the finishing line means talking about ‘Dancers of Truth’. The tune that clocks in at seven minutes is the little epos on the album. ‘Dancers of Truth’ starts calm and gentle before riff power takes over. Kept in a slow to moderate pace, the song is Grande finale that shows the entire bandwidth of Laurenne/Louhimo. 

Again, sometimes new circumstances can deliver new things, adding a positive aspect to unforeseen turns. This album belongs to these positive offers of a changed reality. Melodic metal has a next highlight in 2021 and honestly, I haven’t expected the album that strong and powerful as it turns out in reality. Great work.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Time to Kill the Night
  2. The Reckoning
  3. Tongue of Dirt
  4. Striking Like a Thunder
  5. Bitch Fire
  6. Hurricane Love
  7. To the Wall
  8. Viper’s Kiss
  9. Walk Through Fire
  10. Dancers of Truth

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: July 9th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: