Review BLOODBOUND ‘Creatures of the Dark Realm’

Since Bloodbound started in 2005, they stay true to their style and sound. Melodic power metal from the North is what the guys stand for. Captured on various longplayers, the Swedes never disappointed and could build-up a solid fanbase over time.

With ‘Creatures of the Dark Realm’, the next album, number nine, waits in line and is ready to be unleashed. On May 28th, eleven new melodic metal anthems will create excitement with Bloodbound fans as well as the album probably will not win over too many new supporters. This has mainly to do with the fact, that the new album doesn’t differ too much from the predecessors and also belongs to a genre in which it isn’t easy to surprise.

Bloodbound isn’t reinventing metal on their newest strike and still, there is enough good stuff on ‘Creatures of the Dark Realm’ that is metallic ear-candy. Melodies and hooks, you hardly can resist. Anthems like ‘The Gargoyles Gate’ unfold their taking fascination right away. Actually, the entire album needs just one spin on the record player to reveal the beauty of power and melody. Combined with the fact that ‘Creatures of the Dark Realm’ comes without a standardized ballad, listening to this record is a very entertaining way to spend 45 minutes.

To conclude: ‘Creatures of the Dark Realm’ is a solid album within the frames of melodic power metal. Sometimes the parallels with bands like Sabaton (‘March Into War’) might be a bit too obvious. Still, listening to this longplayer is fun since it feels like the sextet had fun too when working on the album.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. The Creatures Preludium
  2. Creatures Of The Dark Realm
  3. When Fate Is Calling
  4. Ever Burning Flame
  5. Eyes Come Alive
  6. Death Will Lead The Way
  7. Gathering Of Souls
  8. Kill Or Be Killed
  9. The Gargoyles Gate
  10. March Into War
  11. Face Of Evil
  12. The Wicked And The Weak

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Melodic Power Metal

Release Date EU: May 28th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: