CD review HAUNT ‘Beautiful Distraction’

Fresno, California is the homebase of Haunt, a band being the brainchild of Trevor William Church. Haunt is certainly belonging to the bands that is extremely productive. After having released a first EP called ‘Luminous Eyes’ in 2017, Church released with his powerhouse four longplayers with the fifth one being available since few days.

‘Beautiful Distraction’ is the title of the newest addition to the Haunt offering, a ten tracks featuring longplayer that continues the journey through the beautiful world of traditional heavy metal. Although Haunt stays true to their trademarks, the creation of the new album has gone through a different process than the other longplayers. Usually, it’s some bandmates that collaborate on songs and album. Not in this case. It was Church who reached out to fans to interact and work on older songs that had enough shine but also were covered in dust a bit.

Facebook Live was the main medium of interaction and what came out of this fan-oriented and unusual work process is a flaming album that presents for a next time to beauty of riff power and melody, both supporting and amplifying the other in a great way.

If you’re a fan of traditional metal, denim & leather music that isn’t shying away from well-crafted melodies, then there is no way around this longplayer. It’s a ‘Beautiful Distraction’ in the weird days of a pandemic, not only because the title says so.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Beautiful Distraction
  2. In Our Dreams
  3. Fortune’s Wheel
  4. Face of Danger
  5. Sea of Dreams
  6. Keeping Watch
  7. Imaginary Borders
  8. A Fool’s Paradise
  9. Hearts on Fire
  10. It’s in My Hands

Label: Church Recordings

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date: April 2nd, 2021 (digital)



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: