CD review GILBY CLARKE ‘The Gospel Truth’

Gilby Clarke is known for his time with Guns’n’Roses during the first half of the ‘90s and there is much more too. Clarke released several solo albums, starting with ‘Pawnshop Guitars’ in 1994, He was part of bands like Candy, The MC5 and work with Slash in Slash’s Snakepit in 1995.

With ‘The Gospel Truth’ the next solo album is in the starting blocks waiting for the starting signal which is scheduled for April 24th, 2021. ‘The Gospel Truth’ features a ten songs-containing tracklist, representing tunes that are deeply rooted a hard rock and blues. This album is a soundtrack for a ride on the endless highway into the sunset. Clarke doesn’t reinvent rock’n’roll. It’s rather the passion for this kind of music and the love for the sound of a rocking guitar being the motivator for Clarke when making this record.

Three songs of the album have been unveiled already, tunes like the rhythm driven ‘Rock’n’Roll is Getting Louder’ that features Mötley Crüe bassist Nikki Sixx as well as drummer John Mellencamp (Chickenfoot) and Stephen Perkins (Jane’s Addiction, Porno For Pyro).

Furthermore, there is with ‘Violation’ another cool rocker on the album and it is ‘Dangerous Sin’ that represent the grooving aspect of this longplayer very well. The pure spirit of rock’n’roll comes with ‘Make Me Smile (Come Up and See Me)’, a cool song with a down-to-earth expression, followed by the pounding closer ‘She Wont Fight Fair’.

‘The Gospel Truth’ is an album that pays attention to the basics and roots of rock and blues. It’s the sheer joy of music that driven Clarke and this longplayer. This lively album is matter of heart more than stretching the frames of hard played rock music.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. The Gospel Truth
  2. Wayfarer
  3. Tightwad
  4. Rock’n’Roll is Getting Louder
  5. Wise Old Timer
  6. Violation
  7. The Ending
  8. Dangerous Sin
  9. Make Me Smile (Come Up and See Me)
  10. She Wont Fight Fair

Label: Golden Robot Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: April 23rd, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: