CD review EVOKE ‘Seeds of Death’

Seven songs, 34 minutes … Metal doesn’t need much more than that, at least when it comes to Evoke and their new longplayer ‘Seeds of Death’. Metal purists will love the album since the three Norwegians deliver right to the money.

After having started the band in 2016 two demos has been released that paved the way for inking a deal with Pulverised Records. The first result of this collaboration is Evoke’s debut, an album that is raw and evil. Thrash- and Speed Metal with a blackened soul, that what these seven songs are about. Sometimes it’s an essence of the NWoBHM that spices up things, like with the closer ‘Satanic Rebirth’. Another song you shouldn’t miss is the raging ‘Souls of the Night’. Some parallels with South American Thrash Metal are reflected in a mighty riff orgy in the first half while furious solo parts in the second half are like a punch in the face too.

‘Seeds of Death’ is an authentic release that is build on cruel-hearted Metal that isn’t build on compromises. Sales numbers and YouTube clicks isn’t what these three guys had in mind while working on their debut. It is more that Evoke finally found an outlet to unleash their forceful musical ardor. ‘Seeds of Death’, that is music from fans for fans and after 34 minutes you take a deep breath, grab another beer and press the ‘Start’-button again for a next round of solid headbanging.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Deadly Revenge
  2. Seeds Of Death
  3. Souls Of The Night
  4. Leviathan’s Victory
  5. Wrathcurse
  6. Demons Of War
  7. Satanic Rebirth

Label: Pulverized Records

Genre: Speed-/Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: September 18th, 2020


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: