CD review DOKKEN ‘The Lost Songs: 1978-1981’

A prequel, known from several movie series, is now also coming from a band that belonged to the main acts in melodic Metal in the ’80s … Dokken. ‘Breaking the Chains’ is the title of the fulminant debut album that paved the way for another three longplayers that had big impact on this genre.

After having released with ‘Back for Attack’ an excellent forth longplayer in 1987, things cooled down and Dokken couldn’t live-up anymore to earlier successes.

The latest studio release ‘Broken Bones’ has seen the light of day in 2012 and there was a bit of radio silence that’s now ending with a ‘new’ album, or lets better say a next album. ‘The Lost Songs: 1978-1981’ focusses on the time before the heydays started. Eleven songs, mainman Don Dokken and a rather long list of involved musicians, that’s Dokken in the late ’70s and the album carries the songs from this time..

The record has some good tunes, reflecting the early days of the megaseller the band became later on. ‘Felony’, that has been written right after Don Dokken’s arrival in Hamburg, Germany is one of these tracks that clearly shows the musical road the band was planning to take. ‘Step Into the Light’ and ‘No Answer’ are two other songs also worth to be mentioned. Although not having all the dots on the I, the songs reflect the Dokken sound and was the springboard for the debut. Both tracks feature George Lynch’s electrifying guitar play, an undeniable success-factor of the later Dokken.

The album carries with ‘Hit and Run’ a song, in poorer demo sound quality, that is a real highlight although it never ended up properly on a Dokken album. Last but not least there is with ‘Day After Day’ a ballad too that shows Dokken’s ability to craft heart-breaking tracks.

‘The Lost Songs: 1978-1981’ is a longplayer that is a treat for Dokken fans, but not only for them. Everybody who’s interested in the earlier days of Rock and Metal will enjoy this release that is more of a musical documentary than a regular Dokken record. And maybe some of these tracks should be re-recorded with giving them a finishing touch since they are too good to just get ‘lost’ again.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Step Into the Light
  2. We’re Going Wrong
  3. Day After Day
  4. Rainbows
  5. Felony
  6. No Answer
  7. Back In The Streets
  8. Hit And Run
  9. Broken Heart
  10. Liar
  11. Prisoner

Label: Silver Lining Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: August 28th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: