CD review ASSIGNMENT ‘Reflections’

Assignment is a German band with an interesting history. The guys started in the fields of Death-/Thrash Metal before transforming into a progressive Power Metal band over time. The quintet from Guetersloh added so far four albums to the book and it’s ‘Reflections’ being the fifth strike from the North Rhine-Westphalia based outfit.

In total ten songs are reflecting well-crafted progressive Metal and it’s the band’s new drummer Michael Kolar that gives the record a strong heartbeat. Assignment adds a lot to their songs and sometimes it feels like less would be more. Cinematic tracks like ‘Unknown Distance’ show the talent of the band to create interesting tunes. ‘Obsession’ is a powering Metal song, being more straight to the point compared to some of the other ones on the album. ‘Submission’ comes with the right portion of heaviness but also pays attention to a good melody in the chorus. It’s a lot of various, but it’s good stuff.

Lyrics are more than just words on this longplayer. Assignment addresses various topics. ‘Trilogia Balkanica’, together with the following ‘Mercyful Angel’, is about the NATO bombings in Serbia twenty years ago, with the misspelled ‘mercyful’ being a little homage to the mighty Mercyful Fate. ‘Mercyful Angel’ is at the same time one of the hardest songs on the album and partly reflects the bands roots in harsher Metal.

‘Corporate Men’ talks about humans in business and their behavior when it comes to financial greed. The title track takes a different road and is a personal song. The theme of a permanent inner conflict of where you live and where your heart is at home, which is not always the same place. The inner struggle is reflected in the soulful tune quite well, amplified by the shared vocals by Diego Valdez and Ines Vera-Ortz.

To sum up: ‘Reflections’ is an album that might be interesting for fans of bands like Dream Theater, Savatage and Symphony X. Melodic Metal with progressive song structures is what this longplayer offers. Even if it feels like the guys being ahead of themselves here and there, the album is a well-done one and has the potential to enlarge the Assignment fan-base.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Trilogia Balkanica
  2. Mercyful Angel
  3. Obsession
  4. Corporate Men
  5. Reflections
  6. Submission
  7. Timeline
  8. Endlessly
  9. Unknown Hero
  10. Silent Nation

Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Progressive Power Metal

Rlease Date EU: August 21st, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: