CD review VEGA ‘Grit Your Teeth’

You don’t need to grit your teeth for going through Vega’s newest longplayer. Although being entitled ‘Grit Your Teeth’ the album is fueled by smooth rocking songs that can be listened to with an ease.

Once again the UK-based rockers managed to write songs that catches your attention with great melodies without becoming too predictable. Sometimes you get the idea that this kind of music walks on worn out paths but Vega actually proves the opposite. With a good sense for a good melodies and a demand for a certain level of hardness you can create excellent melodic rock songs with some twists and variation.

I can’t say that the sextet reinvents the genre of rock music, but it’s the passion and dedication that makes Vega’s sixth longplayer to a colorful delight. Check out the title track as one example for their excellent songwriting. Dynamic, powerful and true to themselves the guys created an excellent rock anthem. This song is just one example that represents the entire album. ‘Don’t Fool Yourself’, the soulful ‘Consequence of Having a Heart’ and the smoothly rocking ‘Save Me from Myself’ are really cool rock hymns. It doesn’t take you long to get into the music that’s offered by ‘Grit of Teeth’ since the album blossoms right away.

Together with an excellent sound, Vega shows to the world how well-crafted melodic rock should sound like. It’s ‘Grit Your Teeth’ being the colorful musical moment each of us need once in a while. Recommended by MHMB 🙂

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Blind
  2. (I Don’t Need) Perfection
  3. Grit Your Teeth
  4. Man On A Mission
  5. Don’t Fool Yourself
  6. Consequence Of Having A Heart
  7. This One’s For You
  8. Battles Ain’t A War
  9. Save Me From Myself
  10. How We Live
  11. Done With Me

Label: Frontiers Music

Label: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: June 12th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: