CD review MIKE LEPOND’S SILENT ASSASSINS ‘Whores of Babylon’

If you have proven experts at work, the result can’t be bad, a fact that applies to the third solo album by Symphony X bassist Mike LePond.

‘Whore of Babylon’ follows ‘Mike LePond’s Silent Assassin’s’ and ‘Pawn and Prophecy’ and again stands for excellent heavy metal. The third longplayer is recorded with the same basic line-up as the previous album, which includes next to LePond also vocal icon Alan Tecchio and guitarist Lance Barnewold. All three musicians perform outstanding work on ‘Whores of Babylon’.

Inspired by several broadcasts on History Channel, LePond created stories based on historical sources, from ‘Dracul Son’ to ‘Lady Bathory’.

Musically, the album is located in a powerful heavy metal setting. Well done melody lines and progressive structures weave a fine web of musical seduction, a fact that is reflected in the rather calm title track. Sometimes, like on ‘Power of Steel’, the trio goes to work with an unusually rocking style. It’s these nuances and twists that make the record a pleasure to listen to.

Furthermore it’s the pounding songs that make an impression. Alan Tecchio with his powerful voice brings tracks like the magestic ‘Tell Tale Heart’ to a higher level, while ‘Champion’ is another quiet track on the tracklist. In contrast to the other tunes it’s here not Tecchio who vocally refines the song. Sarah Teets takes over the singing, a move that gives the album an extra twist.

High speed is provided by ‘Ironbound’, a song that also features a catchy chorus. Last but not least ‘Night of the Long Knives’, a track with folk elements and Celtic atmosphere.

None of the previous albums disappointed and ‘Whore of Babylon’ is no exception. Mike Lepond and his enthusiastic band mates show once again how well done and powerful heavy metal should sound. Without losing the basic structures, LePond gives this album so many twists and turns that you want to press the start button again.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Dracul Son
  2. Ides of March
  3. Tell Tale Heart
  4. Night of The Long Knives
  5. Champion
  6. Ironborn
  7. Lady Bathory
  8. Power of Steel
  9. Whore of Babylon
  10. Avalon

Label: Silver Lining Music

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: June 26th, 2020


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: