CD review CHRONUS ‘Idols’

Helsingborg, in the Southern parts of Sweden, is a smaller town with a rather vital music scene. The Tivoli venue is a centerpiece right in the middle of the city and it’s bands like Soilwork calling Helsingborg their home. Chronus is another band, hailing from the Swedish shore line that brings good music to the plate also.

The quartet started in 2012 and up to date Svante Furevi (g,v) and Sebastian Axelsson (v/g) are the driving forces of Chronus. In the beginning things went slow and it took two years for the band to release an EP.

Another three years later the guys premiered with a self-titled longplayer that helped them to sign an deal with Listenable Records. The sophomore record ‘Idols’ is the first countable result of this collaboration, an album that comprisses of 10 new songs.

Chronus, that’s tradition Hard Rock with a great sense for good melodies. As with many Swedish bands in this genre also Chronus electrifies listeners by well-placed hooks and a solid level of catchiness. It’s hard, if not even impossible, to not be fascinated by their songs.

‘Idols’ is an album of a band that could firm under a logo saying ‘Youth Gone Wild’. Talent, passion and savvy, that’s what the four guys express via songs that are impressive. Hard Rock and Metal fuses on this album to an irresistible mix that you shouldn’t miss. I guess this is just the beginning and we will hear more of Chronus in the near future. These guys came to stay.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Mountains of Madness
  2. Heavy is the Crown
  3. Shepherd
  4. Heart is Longing For You
  5. Ghosts
  6. Sun
  7. Pharos
  8. Black Water
  9. Memories
  10. Idols

Label: Listenable Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: April 24th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: