CD review THE UNITY ‘Pride’

The Unity is the brainchild of two veterans when it comes to German Heavy Metal. Gamma Ray guitarist Henjo Richter and drummer Michael Ehre founded The Unity in 2016 and completed the line-up by welcoming Jogi Sweers (b), Stefan Ellerhorst (g), Sascha Onnen (key) and Gianbattista Manenti (v) to the team. This sextet is on a Melodic Power Metal mission since then. With ‘The Unity’ and ‘Rise’ two longplayers have been accomplished so far and number three is lining up as we speak here and now.

A few days after the guys started their touring activities with Rhapsody Of Fire the new record ‘Pride’ will be available for everybody. What the band states in the moniker become reality over time. The band became a tight working unit with song that blossom right away. The melodic Hard Rocker ‘Line and Sinker’ is a perfect example of great hooks being combined with a catchy chorus, reminding of bands like the mighty Magnum.

That The Unity has to say something too is what becomes obvious with the following track ‘We Don’t Need Them’. Radicalism, intolerance and oppression has no place in The Unity’s universe and they state it very clearly. With ‘Hands of Time’ the sextet addresses their concerns when it comes to ongoing destruction of nature, topics that concern us all. Next to the strong themes both songs are excellent Melodic Metal anthems too. Melodies and heaviness melt to an irresistible mix that spreads fascination right away.

What differentiates The Unity’s sound from other bands in this genre is the variety in song writing. Everybody in the band has been involved in the creative process that led to the eleven songs, plus an intro. The heavy pounding ‘Angel of Dawn’ is one output of these session while ‘Damn Nation’ shifts gears, being an uptempo rocker with class. Real Metal is what you get offered in the beginning of ‘Scenery of Hate’ while bridge and chorus brings melody more to forefront. What strings everything together is the driving beat, that base also for a blistering guitar solo. And if all this wouldn’t be enough you can enjoy with ‘Rusty Cadillac an homage to Classic Rock. The songs fueled by a pure Rock and Roll vibe and shows again the variety of sounds on ‘Pride’.

The Unity can be truly pride for what they achieved on this album. “Pride’ is heavy enough for the denim and leather fraction as well as it features a melodic aspect that allow the band to open up for Rock fans. This album is one of the best ones so far in this category.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. The New Pandora
  2. Hands Of Time
  3. Line And Sinker
  4. We Don´t Need Them Here
  5. Destination Unknown
  6. Angel Of Dawn
  7. Damn Nation
  8. Wave Of Fear
  9. Guess How I Hate This
  10. Scenery Of Hate
  11. Rusty Cadillac
  12. You Don´t Walk Alone

Label: Steamhammer

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: March 13th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: