CD review WISHBONE ASH ‘Coat of Arms’

Old lions still roar, although they might roar a bit more gentle than in the days of youth. UK rockers Wishbone Ash belong to the category, a band that has their roots in the late 60’s in Devon, England.

More than 50 years after having left the starting blocks Wishful Ash belongs the the pioneers of Rock and already the fact that they are still active shows the passion for what they are doing. Wishbone Ash releases with ‘Coat of Arms’ a next studio album featuring eleven songs. The longplayer offers progressive and melodic Rock driven by the sound of two leads guitars and the emotive vocals by founding member Andy Powell. The singer/guitarist is the driving force behind Wishful Ash and the new longplayer too, a record that offers sound bridging past, present and future of the band.

A song that stands out is ‘Empty Man’. The folk-style is a rather new asset in Wishbone Ash’s music and with ‘Personal Halloween’, the closer, the band put another song on the tracklist that’s unusual. Wishbone Ash, after all the decades in Rock, isn’t a band doesn’t stand still and rest on one’s oars. A funky groove and singing guitars is what makes ‘Personal Halloween’ different to many other Wishbone Ash songs by still being a cool Rock song and great listening experience.

With having added these twists to their music the band still pays enough attention to their typical sound too. ‘We Stand As One’ is a rocker you expect from the band. The soulful ‘Floreana’ shows the expected gentle tones of the quartet, something that goes even more for the eight minutes of ‘It’s Only You I See’. The latter is a great fusion of Classic Rock and Progressive Rock, showcasing all the compositional skills of Powell and his band mates.

‘Coat of Arms’ is a gently roaring album of a band that embraces their musical heritage without being afraid of adding new elements to it.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. We Stand As One
  2. Coat of Arms
  3. Empty Man
  4. Floreana
  5. Drive
  6. It’s Only You I See
  7. Too Cool For AC
  8. Back in the Days
  9. Deja Vu
  10. When the Love is Shared
  11. Personal Halloween

Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: February 28th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: