CD review DISBELIEF ‘The Ground Collapses’

Serious things must happen to make the ground collapse and one of the forces that can make this happen is Disbelief’s new album. ‘The Ground Collapses’ is the title of Disbelief’s eleventh album and two years after the earthshaking ‘The Symbol of Death’ was unveiled, it’s the new longplayer being the next smashing release that reaches us from Hessen, Germany.

Three decades in Extreme Metal couldn’t stop Jagger, Joe, Dave, Marius and Fab. The opposite is the case. Disbelief is stronger than ever. The guys received already great feedback for the demos in the early ’90s and never disappointed since then. ‘Surviving’ the decade of Grunge and Alternative Rock shows how strong their songs are. What started with the debut in 1997 grew over time to a ruthless Death Metal beast that seems to be unstoppable.

‘The Ground Collapses’ is a merciless next album, featuring eleven songs that are all a sonic punch into your face. Again it is frontman Karsten ‘Jagger’ Jäger and his way of growling being an essential asset for Disblief. His way of combining guttural vocals, growls and intensity lifts him into the Champions League of Death Metal vocalists. Jagger has the ability to not only growl. He has the gift to add intensity and impact to his vocals, something that manifests itself in songs like the blood-curdling ‘Insane’. Even the narrative beginning of ‘Scaring Threat’ is a part of the repertoire, a vocal treasure box where all parts fit together.

Swift guitars is what comes with the album too and not to forget the brutal groove that makes songs like ‘Awakening’ to more than merely a wake-up call. ‘The Waiting’ is another highlight on the album. A hypnotic beat, striking riffing and a dark vibe, these are the key elements of this blast, that’s followed by ‘Colder Than Ice’. In the verse it’s the calmer moments and melodic guitar parts that build a great counterpart to Jagger’s growls. The songs is prime example for an atmospheric Death Metal song.

Disbelief sets with ‘The Ground Collides’ a first milestone for 2020 and the quintet puts the bar quite high. This album reflects musical savvy, maturity and a ruthless approach, a longplayer that doesn’t compromise on anything. Neck-muscle ache alarm.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. The Ground Collapses
  2. Scaring Threat
  3. The Awakening
  4. Killing to the Last
  5. The Waiting
  6. Colder Than Ice
  7. Soul Destructor
  8. Insane
  9. Hologram For the Scum
  10. Kill’s Ending
  11. Depth of Sorrow

Label: Listenable Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: March 27rd, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: