CD review HUMAN FORTRESS ‘Reign of Gold’

Human Fortress and the Scorpions have at least one thing in common, their hometown is Hannover in Germany. Furthermore both are busy in the fields of Metal although the Scorpions play in a totally different league.

Human Fortress instead is the passionate worker, a band build on dedication. The six-piece outfit from Germany could score some success over the last 20 years but never made it to the top and maybe that’s a good thing since it allows the band to follow their heart rather than pure commercial interest.

‘Reign of Gold’ is album number six on Human Fortress’ list of deliveries, a record that features eleven songs. The banner of Melodic Metal can describe best what to expect in case you never heard of the guys before.

The Germans don’t reinvent this genre and why should they. It’s more that Human Fortress knows how to use the tools. Melodies, hooks, guitar power and catchy vocals unit, manifesting themselves in songs like the title track. Although melodies are a substantial part of Human Fortress songs the band manages to navigates around the dangerous cliffs of boring mainstream sounds. There’s always enough fire power that comes with tracks like the uptempo ‘Surrender and ‘The Blacksmith’, another musical blast.

Human Fortress’ sixth longplayer underlines in a good way why the guys are still around after two decades. Willpower and passion for what they are doing is the key, leading to music that is timeless and entertaining.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Imminence
  2. Thunder
  3. Reign of Gold
  4. Lucifer’s Waltz
  5. Bullet of Betrayal
  6. Shining Light
  7. Surrender
  8. The Blacksmith
  9. Martial Valor
  10. Legion of the Damned
  11. Victory

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: December 6th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: