CD review MAYHEM ‘Daemon’

(9/10) Black Metal pioneers Mayhem aren’t a band with a rich discography when it comes to quantity. Quality though was never compromised with five longplayers giving the band a legendary status. The guys are veterans in Black Metal and the awareness level of the band is really high.

Mayhem plays Extreme Metal and with the new album the guys certainly unleashes a ‘Daemon’. The band’s sixth longplayer features ten songs with a few bonus tracks that come with various formats.

‘Daemon’ is like a hellish fever dream –  evil, chaotic, distracting and savage.

As with any Mayhem album it’s hard to compare it with earlier releases. Mayhem is Mayhem, with shifts and moves that doesn’t deny the roots but slightly changes the pattern. ‘The Dying False King’ is the starting point of the fever dream and it hits you right away. There’s no intro or calmer way to get things started. ‘The Dying False King’ starts with a sonic blast, a racing song with Attila’s vocals being a centerpiece. A calmer section in the middle part is a short disruption from the furious rest of the track, amplifying heaviness.

Mayhem is a band that gains inspiration out of tension, leading to creativity that manifests itself in songs like the furious ‘Falsified and Hated’ and the black-hearted ‘Daemon Spawn’, the latter being a six minutes epos. ‘Daemon Spawn’ is the masterpiece on the album, not only due to length. The song’s kept in a more moderate pace with Atiila frightening and rogue vocals being the transmitter of a hellish expression. A slower rhythm and malicious riffs adds to the strong and devilish mood of this blackened milestone.

‘Daemon’ features songs that are dramatic and malicious, equipped and strengthened by a great sound. The longplayer is for sure not over-produced. It sounds exactly as it should, basic and oldschool, covering the power of Metal and the anarchic Punk expression, all under a dark sky only lit by hellfire.

Like mentioned in the beginning ‘Daemon’ is a musical fever dream that catches you with the opener and releases you covered in fearful sweat after the last notes of ‘Invoke the Oath’ fade away in darkness and despair. The album leaves a black mark on your soul and by that Mayhem delivers entirely to expectation.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. The Dying False King
  2. Agenda Ignis
  3. Bad Blood
  4. Malum
  5. Falsified And Hated
  6. Aeon Daemonium
  7. Worthless Abominations Destroyed
  8. Daemon Spawn
  9. Of Worms And Ruins
  10. Invoke The Oath
  11. Everlasting Dying Flame (Bonus Track)*
  12. Black Glass Communion (Bonus Track)*
  13. Evil Dead (Death Cover, Bonus Track)**
  14. The Truth (Death Strike Cover, Bonus Track)**
  15. Disgusting Semla (Morbid Cover, Bonus Track)**

(*) available on the Ltd. CD Mediabook and in the Ltd. Deluxe LP Box Set as well as on streaming platforms
(**) available in the Ltd. Deluxe LP Box Set only

Label: Century Media

Genre: Black Metal

Release Date EU: October 25th, 2019




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: