CD review CRYSTAL BALL ‘2020’

(*/10) Usually Swiss clocks are appreciated for their preciseness. Having a glimpse on the title of the upcoming Crystal Ball album could give the impression of the Swiss guys being ahead of things, releasing a album entitled ‘2020’ in 2019.

A deep-dive into the meaning of the ‘2020’ brings the true meaning to surface. Crystal Ball celebrates the 20th anniversary of the Hard Rock outfit with a compilation album, featuring 20 songs.

Spread out over two CDs the Swiss band focusses on the first decade with songs like ‘Lay Down the Law’, taken from the debut. Disc number two lasers in on the last ten years, reflecting the more contemporary Crystal Ball tunes. The songs, that made it on the album were selected by fan vote and it was no less than Stefan Kaufmann who gave the songs the right punch.

If you’re looking for an 80 minutes summary of Crystal Ball’s ‘Best of…’ with songs that have been re-recorded and newly interpreted, it’s this album that will end your search. A good summary. Not more, but also not less.



CD 1

1. HELLvetia
2. Moondance
3. Soul Mate
4. Lay Down The Law
5. He Came To Change The World 6. Dance With The Devil
7. Mozart Symphony
8. My Life
9. Am I Free
10. Forever And Eternally

CD 2

1. Paradise
2. Mayday!
3. Alive For Evermore
4. Hold Your Flag
5. Eye To Eye
6. Suspended
7. Déjà-Voodoo
8. Anyone Can Be A Hero
9. Curtain Call
10. Director’s Cut

Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: August 2nd, 2019



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: